Home       Our Members      Board of Directors

The IHA Board of Directors guides our organization’s initiatives and programs—sharing ideas and having discussions that shape healthcare’s future. They meet regularly to stay on top of industry trends, make strategic decisions, and trade best practices. Our board is made up of 40 voting members and additional liaison non-voting members from organizations across the healthcare industry.

Health plans 

  • Aetna: Jeff Hermosillo, California Market President
  • Alameda Alliance for Health: Matthew Woodruff, Chief Executive Officer
  • Anthem Blue Cross: Mark Reynolds, Vice President and Chief Operating Officer (1), (2)
  • Blue Shield of California: Peter Long, PhD, Executive Vice President, Strategy and Health Solutions
  • Cigna: Peter Welch, President and General Manager, California (1)
  • Health Net: Martha Santana-Chin, MBA, Medicare and Medi-Cal President (1), (2)
  • Inland Empire Health Plan: Edward Juhn, MD, MBA, MPH, Chief Quality Officer (1)
  • Kaiser Foundation Health Plan: Michelle Gaskill-Hames, BSN, MHA, President, Southern California and Hawaii (1)
  • L.A. Care Health Plan: Sameer Amin, MD, Chief Medical Officer
  • UnitedHealthcare: Susan Tonkin, Chief Operating Officer, California


Provider groups 

  • Community Health Center Network: Steve Blake, MSW, MHA, LCSW, CPHQ, Chief Operating Officer
  • Family Care Specialists Medical Group: Hector Flores, MD, Medical Director
  • Health Care LA, IPA: Sabra Matovsky, MBA, FACHE, CEO
  • Hill Physicians Medical Group: David Joyner, MA, MBA, Chief Executive Officer (1)
  • Optum Orange County (formerly Monarch HealthCare): Raymond J. Chicoine, MBA, President (1), (2)
  • Palo Alto Medical Foundation: Elizabeth Vilardo, MD, MBA, Chief Medical Officer, Strategic and Philanthropic Initiatives
  • The Permanente Medical Group: Yi-Fen (Irene) Chen, MD, FACP, CPPS, Associate Executive Director
  • Sansum Clinic: Chad Hine, Chief Operating Officer
  • Scripps Medical Foundation: Anil N. Keswani, M.D., Corporate Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer, Ambulatory Care and Operations
  • Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Centers: Stacey Hrountas, MPH, Chief Executive Officer (1)


Health systems

  • Cedars-Sinai Health System: Jill Martin, Chief Operating Officer
  • Dignity Health: Tammy Wilcox, Senior Vice President, Managed Care
  • John Muir Health: Russell Rodriguez, MD, Chief Medical Officer
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Community Hospital: John Fisher, MD, MBA, Chief Medical Officer
  • MemorialCare Health System: Barry Arbuckle, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer (1), (2)
  • Providence Health & Services: David Mast, Chief Executive, Medical Group Foundations, Los Angeles Market (1)
  • Santa Clara Valley Health and Hospital System: Brian McBeth, MD, Interim Chief Quality Officer
  • Stanford Health Care: Mitu Ramgopal, MHA, Vice President, Accountable Care & Employer Solutions
  • Sutter Health: Conrad M. Vial, MD, Senior Vice President, Chief Clinical Officer
  • U.C. Davis Medical Center: Ann Boynton, Associate Chief Strategy Officer


Purchasers and consumers

  • CalPERS: Donald Moulds, PhD, Chief Health Director, Health Benefits Program (1)
  • Covered California: Doug McKeever, Chief Deputy Executive Director, Program (1), (2)
  • San Francisco Health Service System: Abbie Yant, RN, MA, Executive Director
  • U.C. Office of the President: Susan Pon-Gee, MBA, Senior Director, Health & Welfare Benefits


At large

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb: Jill Carroll, Strategic Account Executive
  • MedPOINT Management: Kimberly Carey, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Pfizer: John D. Capretta, CMR, MBA, Regional Business Director
  • Vituity: Theo Koury, MD, FACEP, President


Liaison (non-voting)

  • California Department of Health Care Services: Linette Scott, MD, MPH, Chief Data Officer and
    Deputy Director of Enterprise Data and Information Management
  • California Department of Managed Health Care: Mary Watanabe, Director
  • California Health Care Foundation: Kristof Stremikis, MPP, MPH, Director, Market Analysis and Insight
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Region IX: Ashby Wolfe, MD, MPP, MPH, Chief Medical Officer
  • RAND Corporation: Cheryl L. Damberg, PhD, MPH, Distinguished Chair, Health Care Payment Policy and Principal Senior Researcher
  • Stanford University, School of Medicine: Arnold Milstein, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine and Director, Clinical Excellence Research Center
  • UC Berkeley, School of Public Health: James C. Robinson, PhD, MPH, Leonard D. Schaeffer Professor of Health Economics, Endowed Chair in Health Economics and Policy, Director, Berkeley Center for Health Technology
  • UC Berkeley, School of Public Health: Stephen M. Shortell, PhD, MPH, MBA, Professor of Health Policy and Management and Dean Emeritus


  • Satellite Healthcare: Tom Williams, DrPH, Interim Chief Executive Officer
  • Stanford University: Alain C. Enthoven, PhD, Marriner S. Eccles Professor of Public and Private Management


(1) IHA Executive Committee member

(2) IHA Officer

(3) IHA Governance Committee chair